Bulk Workflow Moves Using the Bulldozer

If you wish to move a large number of dispatches forward or backward in the postprocess workflow, then the Bulldozer is way to do it. It is used for these kids of situations:


It's Called the Bulldozer to Remind You It's Dangerous

The Bulldozer is a very dangerous feature. If not used very carefully, it can easily wreck the orderly workflow of all your receivables.

For this reason, only a ★ Principal employee can use it. The designation of principal employee is made when your AngelTrack cloud server is first deployed. The designation can only be changed by calling AngelTrack Support.

If you are the principal employee, then you have free and total use of the Bulldozer. However, just as you would not use a real-life bulldozer to pull weeds in your garden, you should not use AngelTrack's bulldozer to perform routine maintenance on your billing workflow. It is intended only for unusual situations as outlined above.

AngelTrack Support cannot use it

If you contact AngelTrack Support for advice on a problem, and if the recommended solution is to use the Bulldozer, you must be the one to do it. AngelTrack Support personnel are not permitted to use the Bulldozer on a production AngelTrack cloud server.


Using the Bulldozer

If there is no practical alternative and so you decide to use the Bulldozer, then follow these steps carefully!

  1. Open the Bulldozer from Billing Home. Read the warning and consider one last time whether the task cannot be done manually.
  2. Use the filters to narrow down your list of target dispatches in the usual way. They work just like they do everywhere else in AngelTrack.
  3. Review the target list carefully. Make sure that no stray dispatches are in the list. If there is no way to filter out all the strays, then write down each stray's dispatch ID so that you can manually un-bulldoze it afterward.
  4. Double-check that the target list does not overflow into extra pages, like this:

    Bulldozer showing multiple pages of targets

  5. Export the target list as a spreadsheet, using the Export button. Save the spreadsheet in case you need to later recall which dispatches you bulldozed. Do not skip this step!
  6. From the "Bulk Operations" box, choose the desired workflow location. If you are bulldozing all the way to  Finished , the Bulldozer will automatically set price quotes for any dispatch that has neither a price quote nor a price allowed. This is done so that the dispatch can be calculated in to your taxes and writeoffs.
  7. Click the "Bulldoze" button.
  8. Verify that all selected targets in the grid now show the correct postprocess workflow location.

All Bulldozer Moves are Journalled

Whenever the Bulldozer moves a dispatch forward or backward in the postprocess workflow, an appropriate entry is written to the dispatch's journal. The journal entry shows who initiated the change, when the change occurred, and the fact it was done using the Bulldozer.

Using these journals, it is possible to undo each Bulldozer move, one by one. This will be necessary if you are bulldozing a large number of target dispatches with one or two strays in the mix. Simply write down the dispatch IDs of the strays, then track the strays down afterward and undo the move by checking the journals.



AngelTrack Help Index - AngelTrack Support